04
Mar
10

i’m going to hell for saying this…

…but I like Milius-Conan better than Howard-Conan.  By a pretty wide margin.  Everything about that movie is awesome.  But James Earl Jones is especially awesome.  And Mako is extra-especially awesome (in this and in all things).

If a movie has this in it, I am okay with trademark dilution


10 Responses to “i’m going to hell for saying this…”


  1. March 4, 2010 at 4:13 am

    Dude! You still have time to take it back! You don’t have to go to hell!

  2. March 4, 2010 at 4:16 am

    As a big fan of the Howard Conan, I can totally understand where you’re coming from. Arnie Conan is essentially a unique character with his own signature appeal.

  3. March 4, 2010 at 4:42 am

    “Dude! You still have time to take it back! You don’t have to go to hell!”

    It’s the nature of sin that while in its grip you refuse to repent.

    I understand why Howard purists are displeased by the movie, but the only real problem is that they give Schwartzenegger’s character the same name as Howard’s creation. But it’s a hell of a fun film, and I think it captures the spirit of Sword & Sorcery stories pretty well: rollicking bad-assery, exotic settings, and a bit of philosophizing that stops just short of kitsch.

    To switch topics slightly, Howard’s Conan stories remind me, in a way, of “Scarface,” a film I didn’t see until I was almost 30. It’s a body of work so seminal and influential that it creeps into innumerable aspects of pop culture–so that by the time a latecomer gets around to tracking down the original material, there’s very little thrill of discovery because everything’s been seen before from lesser works. It’s still pretty cool to see the guy who did it FIRST (or at least, was one of the very best among many people who were doing it first), but that’s a very intellectualized or critical sort of pleasure.

  4. March 4, 2010 at 6:19 am

    I had a drunken conversation once with Michael Swanwick about admiring Conan the Destroyer, which I think boiled down to the JG Ballard -> Warm Leatherette -> Grace Jones connection, plus Wilt Chamberlain said in his autobiography that he had sex with 20,000 women, so no movie with these two in it could not be totally hot. I will assume that Mr. Swanwick was humoring me and actually reviles CtD, because I really like his books and would hate for him to go in hell.

  5. 5 Nextautumn
    March 4, 2010 at 7:13 am

    I also love the Milius Conan. Not as much as the Howard but a helluva lot.

  6. March 4, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    The soundtrack to “Conan the Barbarian” makes for great gaming music.

  7. 7 Greengoat
    March 4, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    The movie is pretty good, I like when Subotai does the D&D climb walls with two daggers.

    James Earl Jones’ cultist rantings are so awesome as well.

  8. March 4, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Love the Howard stories, but the first film is great fun – so what if it’s not “Howard’s Conan?” And it’s sequels* are a decent way to pass the time with a little mindless entertainment.

    So I guess I’ll be going to Hell right along with you. We’ll have to get together for a sword & sorcery game when we get a break from all the fire and brimstone. :P

    (*Yes, I said sequels – plural. Kull with Kevin Sorbo – whom I generally like, so sue me – was supposed to be the third in the series. Even without the name and the man, I think it’s a fun movie to watch every now and then.)

  9. March 5, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    I like how Conan got information from the witch. The scout guy was weird too, from what I remember, some friend of Arnold’s. The first movie was cool. The second one… well, not for me.

  10. 10 John Morrow
    December 20, 2010 at 1:08 am

    In case you haven’t already read it, take a look at A Critical Appreciation of John Milius’s
    Conan the Barbarian by David C. Smith:

    http://www.barbariankeep.com/ctbds.html


Leave a Reply

Past Adventures of the Mule

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

RPG Bloggers Network

RPG Bloggers Network

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog & get email notification of updates.

Join 1,045 other followers


