22
Jul
10

Advocating for Original D&D on the Canon Puncture Podcast

Something that Mule readers may find interesting, should they wish to stop being readers for a little while and become listeners instead:

A while back I did an interview with Rich Rogers, aka Orklord of the Canon Puncture podcast.  It’s part of a series called Game Advocates, in which people talk about what they get out of one of their favorite RPGs. Mine was #99 in the series; previous entries feature all manner of cool folks providing practical insights about their RPG experiences.

The podcast is half an hour, and Rich and I spent at least as much time talking afterwards. He’s a very enjoyable conversationalist with a lot of enthusiasm for roleplaying games, and I think it would have been cool to have captured some of that discussion as well. I was very interested to hear about his experiences with old-school games (specifically Labyrinth Lord, if I recall) and expand together on the themes I sketched out during the formal interview portion.

Nevertheless, what’s here is a pretty rapid-fire summary of how I see the evolution of OD&D, why the 1974 edition in particular is worthwhile as an inspirationally incoherent collision of the Arnesonian and Gygaxian approaches, and how its framework of dice-based improv can result in fun and surprising gameplay. For those who have played OD&D with me, I’ll be interested to hear whether you think the way I describe things here matches your own experience of what we do. For those I haven’t played with yet, this is probably a pretty good indication of what it’d be like to hear me interrupt the game and go off on a tangent for thirty minutes while you wait for your turn to act.


6 Responses to “Advocating for Original D&D on the Canon Puncture Podcast”


  1. 1 Ed
    July 22, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Great interview. Makes me wish I was up in NY to play in the redbox game.

  2. July 23, 2010 at 12:43 am

    “this is probably a pretty good indication of what it’d be like to hear me interrupt the game and go off on a tangent for thirty minutes while you wait for your turn to act.”

    Well, it’s not REALLY the same experience, because when you start spouting off, in the back of my mind I know that this will trigger OTHERS to spout off as well. But opening the link in several different tabs, and then playing them in a way to overlap, recreates the experience quite well.

    But seriously: congratulations!

  3. 4 Akiyama
    July 29, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    ” . . . inspirationally incoherent . . .”

    That phrase has now been filed away in my mind ready for when anyone asks me why I prefer OD&D to whatever their personal favourite set of fantasy RPG rules happens to be.

  4. August 3, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Tavis, really interesting talk about OD&D. The part about players needing a firm base of game “reality” was very insightful.

  5. August 3, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Darn iPad auto corrected my name.


Leave a Reply

Past Adventures of the Mule

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RPG Bloggers Network

RPG Bloggers Network

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog & get email notification of updates.

Join 1,045 other followers


