27
Apr
12

One Page Dungeon: Devil Gut Rock

This is cross-posted from my illustration blog last night. I’m sorry if this is bad form, but no one reads my illustration blog anyway and this is a free goodie for you loyal readers. I gotta do something to make up for my lack of talkie-talkie on the mule blog. – das Goat

So, in the interest of triggering more rpg game-playing in my recalcitrant friend, I challenged him to make an entry for the One Page Dungeon Contest this year. Although he is well versed in the nature of dungeon adventuring and RPGs from way back in his youth, he balks at currently playing for various reasons of time commitment and free time. However, he is quite keen on the study of structures and the creation of “game play objects” like miniature painting and particularly making war-game scenery. I knew he would be up for some dungeon design.

So I emailed him the link to the One Page Dungeon contest on a lark, realizing that we had just over a week to go before the submission deadline. But it would be fun to goad him into a competitive effort and the process would be good for my infrequent DMing as well.

After he took the bait and started discussing ideas with me, I started to look through the OPDC webpage in earnest and saw that there were actual prizes awarded and I got even more excited. And then I looked through the winning entries from the previous years and got a bit nervous. There was some good stuff, both from a visual standpoint and play-wise. It would be some stiff competition.

Oh well, I figured. I told him we should blast through the process, try and get them submitted and then take turns playing each other through the dungeons one night. (Maybe shouting over to Mrs. Greengoat about how much fun this was.) That would be the best part and I could use my entry for a future session with the notorious NY Redbox Crew.

So after too much time spent on inking my isometric map and cramming as much text as I could decently fit on a sheet of paper I was finished. I wanted a good playable dungeon and kept my visual extravagances limited for readability and clarity. Or maybe I tell myself that because the map is kinda bare.) It has inspired me to get into more isometric cartography in future endeavors.

Tools used: I inkjet printed an isometric grid straight onto Borden & Riley Paris Paper and penciled in the rooms. I used india ink with brush and pen straight over that and added the keyed numbers digitally. Wrote the text in Open Office and did layout in InDesign with free fonts. I should start using all open source software in the future. Adobe habits are hard to break. I listened to the Melvins.

Use and Enjoy:

OPD_DevilGutRock_Greengoat


8 Responses to “One Page Dungeon: Devil Gut Rock”


  1. April 27, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    That is hot! Cross-post any time.

  2. April 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    suwheet… that’s awesome! I love the isometric multilevel design, really nice drawing

  3. 3 Heron Prior
    April 27, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I like this one a lot. To me, these are all about cramming in those little bits of flavor wherever you can, and you’ve got lots of evocative detail. It also seems very easy to drop into a variety of campaign types…something Simon Bull really hit on with the very first contest.

    One word of warning: I know from previous contests that certain judges literally will not read an entry if the font size is too small. Looks like it would be some tough editing to be able to bump up the font size a bit, but it might be worth it. Anyway, break a leg!

  4. 4 Greengoat
    April 27, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks folks, always nice to see Ryan’s rainbow structure icon.

    @Heron
    Ya, since I knew I would probably be out-finagled on the art & design end of the contest I tried to go for maximum juiciness with a nice simple map.
    I too read the font size warning on the contest page but looked at the previous winners and decided that 8-9 point text would be okay if I kept the columns and headers neat. Maybe it’s too small but I just couldn’t bring myself to just have a room say “monster” with “treasure”. I needed to try and cram something evocative in. (Whether this fits into the DM sin of not leaving players to their own sensory/narrative experience is another possible subject.)

  5. 5 Charlatan
    April 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    I’m sure this is great, so I’m ignoring this post until GG runs us through it.

  6. 6 namwen
    April 28, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    This is really awesome, can’t wait to play it one day!

  7. May 1, 2012 at 1:26 am

    I know I just called you up to congratulate you, but now I am all angry that I will never in my life create a map this good. I used to think that it was just Paul Jacquays who had some kind of unique power, but now I realize I am simply untalented.

    Screw you, Greengoat. Screw you.

    But I am serious about taking the day off work tomorrow. “Sorry, boss. I designed a great dungeon level. I’m wiped.”


Leave a Reply

Past Adventures of the Mule

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RPG Bloggers Network

RPG Bloggers Network

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog & get email notification of updates.

Join 1,045 other followers


