18
May
12

Bob Bledsaw’s Birthday

On this date in 1942, Bob Bledsaw was born. The author of many classic adventures that have shaped and inspired my White Sandbox campaign, Bob is best known as the founder of Judges Guild. Here he is talking about its formation at a Q&A thread at the Necromancer Games site:

Judges Guild was founded by myself and Bill Owen (Llangwellan the Blue) from my campaign. It was he and his friends which contacted me with the oriiginal three book set. They had reached me via Dave Petrowsky, my cousin, and the local gaming club. Bill Owen is renowned for running miniature games based upon WWII and his father, Ralph Owen, had founded a chain of hobby stores in Central Illinois (later founding the Franklin Mall and highly sucessful Franklin Travel Agency in Decatur). Bill has a real genius for graphics and helped with the developement of many of our first products including the Judges Shield and Dungeon Tac Cards. Bill and I continue to game together to this day although he is now the CEO of many of his family businesses today. I had asked others of my gaming group to participate such as an out of work printer but Bill took the risk with me. He helped with the paste up on the huge mylar sheet naming every shop in the City State of the Invincible Overlord and consulted some lawyers in his family to make the Crime and Punishment rules. Bill is one of my best friends and stepped aside when his family enterprises began taking much more of his time.

Bill Owen’s recollections of Bob can be found in Bob & Bill: A Cautionary Tale, which is highly recommended.


5 Responses to “Bob Bledsaw’s Birthday”


  1. 1 Zenopus
    May 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Bill Owen also has an extensive Q&A Thread on the Acaeum, in which he has been relaying his recollection of his time with JG & Bob. It’s been ongoing since 2008 and he’s still actively commenting:

    Bill Owen Q&A

  2. 2 Zenopus
    May 18, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Sorry, the link above has a typo.

    Bill Owen Q&A

  3. 4 Bill Owen
    May 20, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    I like to see that Bob is still well-remembered. You posting reminds me of a Bob that even his prolific publications only give a glimpse at… namely his good cheer, frequent belly laughs, and an amazing flights of fancy that he would regale us with. Seemingly effortlessly he would relay back stories and updates about what was going in the campaign as I am sure that I usually had the look on my face of mouth open and eyes wide. Really the only problem with his well-read narrative was that it was intimidating to (at least) myself as junior judge when we intended to take some pressure off Bob by carving up the world with several of us a mini-referees. But when it came to debating some flukey magic or combat system, I was back in my element as about half my life I was a omnivore wargamer. Actually Bob was too, I think there was only one game that he didn’t want to play which was very odd–Rule Britannia. Playing anything, he was not a quitter for he recognized two things that others didn’t–one might outlast the opposition who may get overconfident (it’s happened to me as I left airfields unguarded) and he figured that if someone else was winning why ruin their fun? It took a certain humility and good sportsmanship to appreciate that. Yes, I miss him.

  4. June 3, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Bob Bledsaw& .


Leave a Reply

Past Adventures of the Mule

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RPG Bloggers Network

RPG Bloggers Network

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog & get email notification of updates.

Join 1,045 other followers


