11
Jul
12

Hoping to See You at Gen Con

In hopes of getting together with Mule readers at Gen Con 2012, here is a rundown of stuff I’ll be doing at the convention:

  • I’ll be running an Adventurer Conqueror King mini-campaign Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evening after the exhibit hall closes, going as long into the night as our stamina permits. It’ll be a casual, open-table affair, with easy drop-in/drop-out. I’ll have pre-generated characters at all three levels, or you can bring your own Adventurers, Conquerors, or Kings rolled up using the rules for starting characters at higher level. For that matter, you can bring characters from whatever other RPG you may have, subject to the usual “your ring of wishes doesn’t work on this plane” revision. Folks are welcome to play for one or multiple nights. Location TBD; leave a comment if you’re interested, and I’ll keep you up to date on where we’ll wind up.
  • During the exhibit hall hours, I will typically be at the Old-School Renaissance Group booth, #1359. I’ll be glad to sell you a copy of ACKS, answer questions about upcoming projects, and share enthusiasm for all manner of cool gaming stuff.

The major exception to my general plan to be at OSRG booth while it’s open will be the seminars and panels I’ll be doing as part of the Industry Insider track. Here are a rundown of the ones I’m part of, presented chronologically & with links to their info:

Can’t make Gen Con this year? CONcurrent will be running during the Best Four Days in Gaming to provide a host of gaming sessions and related discussions using G+; register here if that looks like fun. I won’t be taking part myself, but I will be doing another panel via G+ hangout about Kickstarter and Indie Game Development between now and then. You can watch it live this Thursday at 7 pm EDT, and the video of the session will also be posted on YouTube.


6 Responses to “Hoping to See You at Gen Con”


  1. July 11, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    That sounds like a lot of fun. I’ve been looking forward for a chance to play ACKS and it will be great to play a game after running D&D for WotC on Thursday and Friday.

  2. July 12, 2012 at 2:47 am

    I will not be able to make it to GenCon this year, but I did have the chance to play in your marathon Saturday game last year (I was the bard). I highly recommend participating in the drop in games of ACKS for any of the readers that are going. I showed up for a quick demo and wound up playing all day.

  3. July 12, 2012 at 5:27 am

    Tavis, I’d love to go but work and air fair fom Italy conspire to keep me here. I am planning on making 2014 for sure and bringing my son. I’ll try to participate as much as I can via CONcurrent.

  4. 4 Derik Malenda
    July 12, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Tav, I’m always looking for great stuff to do after-hours at GenCon…. let me know when/where!

  5. July 12, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    @mmaranda and Derik, I’m hearing that the lobby of the Embassy Suites is the place of choice for after-hours gaming. I’ll email with my cell phone to help coordinate, but basically I’ll be planning to head over there around seven each evening.

    @rmckee, that was lots of fun! Sorry you can’t make it this year. Likewise @Johnathan – my son couldn’t make it this year either, but I always intend to rent a house with a swimming pool in Indy where kids can run wild in between games; let’s make that happen for ’14.

  6. August 14, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    I’m staying in the Embassy myself and would love to try out ACKS. I have NO excuses not to drop by one of those nights if you are in the lobby of the Embassy. We’ll talk at the Orc Stomp. I’ll be the guy who won’t shut up and let everyone run already and probably with a Yoda backpack on.


Leave a Reply

Past Adventures of the Mule

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

RPG Bloggers Network

RPG Bloggers Network

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog & get email notification of updates.

Join 1,045 other followers


